What Remains

This year began in chaos, and dreadfully long to-do lists filled with undone tasks from the previous year. As Christmas approached, I thought I might – for once – be able to tick off the last obligation and begin the new year focused on new assignments. For one brief moment, I reveled in the luxury of thinking I was done.

 

The next day, I tried to find a specific rubber stamp in my sewing room.

 

Of course, I couldn’t find it. After searching in all the places it should have been, I knew I had to pull out the scary boxes and pry in the piled-up corners. It was time to put away the things I had put down in order to have room to finish projects. Even after two days of sorting, stacking and general puttering about, I faced a table full of of stuff.

 

Stacks, stacks, stacks!

Stacks, stacks, stacks!

 

My stamp is still hiding. I may end up making my own, which is probably for the best. In the meantime, I decided to start on new projects (perhaps if I pretend I’m not looking for the stamp it will creep back where it belongs).

 

Lani Longshore Egyptian quilt top

 

The Challenge project for February is to make something based on an art or architectural style. Years ago I started the Egyptian quilt pictured above. Now is as good a time as any to finish it.

 

I almost finished another project. It’s quilted and bound, but when I started beading it I realized it needed another type of embellishment, something with paint or ink.

 

My first Mars quilt

My first Mars quilt

 

I brought out my Shiva paintsticks, but still can’t decide what I want to do. There are a few days left in the year, so perhaps I’ll figure it out. If not, there’s always next year. At least the list of undone tasks is short.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “What Remains”

  1. TheaM Says:

    that rubber stamp of yours might be hiding with my (brand new!) ink pads… it’s a Martian conspiracy!

  2. Jamuna Advani Says:

    I find it very interesting. Hope you share more of it.

Leave a Reply

