Sick Leave

There are times when the universe brings you all the gifts you could ever wish. There are times when the universe decides you need to be taken down a peg or two. This week was both of those times.

 

First, the take down. I planned to spend the last few days writing and quilting, maybe baking, maybe even organizing. My schedule was clear, my deadlines met, and I was feeling good. For awhile.

 

My new best friend

My new best friend

 

For two days I insisted that my tight throat and stuffy nose were allergy symptoms. I muscled through the mornings, fell apart in the afternoons, but rallied in the evenings. It wasn’t until my daughter said she also had a tight throat and stuffy nose (and chided me for passing my cold on to her) that I had to admit the truth. I was not well, and worse, I was not creative. Worse still, my symptoms were mild enough that I imagined I could be creative if only I would tough it out.

 

Oh, stop laughing.

 

The illusion of competence finally died when I unloaded the clothes from the dryer and put them in a basket with dirty clothes instead of the basket for clean clothes. I bowed to reality, and parked myself on the couch with tissues and buckets of hot tea.

 

On the plus side, I did manage to finish beading and embroidering a small piece for me before the cold virus made my brain fuzzy.

 

Another in my tree series

Another in my tree series

 

This piece is made from leftover strips, orphan beads, and the remaining three strands of embroidery floss from a workshop project. I have no idea what I’ll do with it and I don’t care because it is for me. The proper finishing technique will reveal itself in its own time.

 

The best gift the universe gave me this week, however, came in the December/January 2014 issue of Quilters Newsletter. Gigi Khalsa wrote a terrific article about quilting in fiction, and included me and my co-author, Ann Anastasio. Writers and artists are advised to tell anyone who will listen about their work, and I certainly take every opportunity to promote Death By Chenille and When Chenille Is Not Enough, so to have someone ask me about my books is a rare joy. To find my picture and book covers along side those of the biggest names in quilting fiction – priceless. Worth a cold any day.

 

Death by Chenille - 600 x 900

 

WHEN CHENILLE IS NOT ENOUGH - 2000

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Sick Leave”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    Yeah, Lani. You made it to Quilters Newsletter. As for the other stuff, don’t sweat it. My brain is fuzzy even when I don’t have a cold.

  2. Lori Vogel Says:

    Hi Lani,

    I sure love getting your blog post, but sorry to hear that you don’t feel well! Hope it’s over soon. I now have a kindle. Are your books downloadable and from where? I’m sure this information is readily available if I read things more closely…

    Geoff gets home tomorrow and we get to start our four state probate adventure. His dad died in July and we found his moms body in her stairwell last month (all pretty awful let me tell you). She died with at least four unsigned wills and houses all over the place, shudder, this is going to be something!

    Hope you can come and see me next year, miss the group something fierce! Love to all, Lori

    Sent from my iPad

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Thanks, Lori! Yes, the books are available in Kindle format on Smashwords. When Chenille Is Not Enough is also available as a paperback on Amazon and B&N.com. Sorry to hear about Geoff’s parents. I’ll let the rest of group know.

  3. fuzzyredsocks Says:

    Well said, Lani, sometimes letting go can be the best medicine. Thanks for reminding me – and congrats on yet another victory in your very successful writing career. Your persistence and commitment motivate me to put my butt in the chair.

  4. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    A writing, marketing, and quilting coup all in one. Here’s to it boosting your book sales and national recognition as a sci-fi humor novelist who’s out of this world.

  5. marlenedotterer Says:

    I hope you feel better soon. I’ve been having days exactly like that, too, but I figure mine is jetlag. Very cool about the newsletter. I saw many people on the cruise who were knitting/crocheting and I told them about your book. Next time, I’ll have bring along some cards for you!

Leave a Reply

