A Fabric Obsession

My next quilt project is going to be called Fabric Obsession – Variations on a Theme. Either that, or Fabric Obsession Virus Strains and How to Recognize Them. I had a couple of variation/virus things going on this week. The Halloween fabric kept whispering to me, giving me ideas for more projects.

 

Lani Longshore spider purse

 

I strip-pieced the panel of spider fabric first, then decided the Pixeladies Bellinzona Cube pattern would work just fine. This design has a zipper in it, but the directions are clear enough that even I could assemble the section on the first try.

 

The spider fabric is jazzy enough that the purse did not require embellishment, but these orange beads, which I inherited from my grandfather Fred Rezansoff, begged to be included in the next project.

 

Lani Longshore beads

 

That project also used some of the fabric I couldn’t bear to cut.

 

Lani Longshore Halloween fabric

 

Instead, I made a quilters pop-up book for Halloween. After gluing the base fabric on foam core – cars for the road, the spooky scene for a backdrop – I made cut-outs of a tree and two buildings.

 

Lani Longshore tree pop-up

 

Some of the beads became feet for the base.

 

Lani Longshore bead feet

 

The last step was to make a candy holder from leftover candy corn fabric, and my Halloween display is complete. Let the Trick-or-Treating begin!

 

Lani Longshore Halloween pop-up book

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “A Fabric Obsession”

  1. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    Love it! I hope you bring it to our November meeting so we can see it – in the fabric.

  2. Carol G Says:

    I love the pop-up! You are so clever.

Leave a Reply

