Transitions

The prison quilting class began a new phase this week. I conducted my last class as leader and passed the program on to new teachers.

 

My last load of kits and class projects

My last load of kits and class projects

 

Whenever I let go of one project – rare times, but they do happen – I imagine all the new projects I’ll tackle with the extra time in my schedule. One would think by now I’d have accepted the reality of transition time. One would think.

 

This is the notebook I re-purposed for the FCI quilters manual.

 

Lani Longshore notebook

 

Since I had been a committee of one, the manual was in my head. Part of my transition time was occupied by writing down the things in my head, which is always a scary business.

 

Lani Longshore title page

 

There is also the scary business of transferring all the stuff I still have for the program to the new teachers.

 

Stuff that must leave my house

Stuff that must leave my house

 

Admittedly, it will be scarier for them.

 

More stuff that must leave my house

More stuff that must leave my house

 

When all that is finished, I need to finish up my Christmas projects. Mom and I bought the fabric for her gifts together. Here is the block for one of the three dresser scarves I’m making for her.

 

One block, just one little block

One block, just one little block

 

This is what all three look like on my design wall.

 

What do the blocks say to you?

What do the blocks say to you?

 

I think there is some kimono work in my future, when I really do have that extra time I’m imagining.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Transitions”

  1. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    Openings in the dresser scarf block borders create a pathway to either end. Like life itself, a tiny center square captures my attention and makes my destination a delightful journey.

  2. jkroyce Says:

    I should know better than to leave a reply that will follow Vi’s comment. Where does she come up with such great stuff? All I could think was: Gee, it matches my bedroom, wonder if I could steal it from Lani and then make sure she never sees it when she comes to critique meetings.

    How did you get involved in the prison project? What happened to the quilts (I assume it was quilts) that were made?

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      I got involved in the prison program because a friend asked me to join her – which is how I often get started on great adventures! The quilts the students make get finished by the quilt guild and donated to the community. They know their work is going to someone else in need, and it is a source of comfort and pride to them.

Leave a Reply

