Chipping Away For Art

This was my week for listening to the inner artist rather than the inner art critic as I chipped away at the to-do list. I had ideas for the Progressive Party Calendar Project that won’t go with any other vision but my own. My inner art critic said I should come up with different ideas. I ignored her.

 

Lani Longshore November Progressive Calendar block

 

The November block is dark and impressionistic. I’ve added subtle embroidery and beading to show there is life in this seemingly lifeless month.

 

Lani Longshore November calendar block beading

 

It is a far cry from the Thanksgiving images one expects to represent November. Can I use the excuse that I’m a vegetarian?

 

Lani Longshore December solstice block

 

The December block celebrates the winter solstice, with night crowding into my waking hours. The sun knows it will return, and is willing to give the night a brief chance to revel.

 

While I was pawing in my piles for embellishments, I ran across some iron-on shisha mirrors. Heaven only knows how old they are, but the glue was still good so I scattered them across one of my Challenge Rainbow quilts.

 

Lani Longshore shisha mirrors

 

Of course, the universe would be remiss to let me finish even one project without reminding me that there is always something more to make. While searching for binding fabric, I ran across some prints and an orphan block that suggested I put them next to my leaf block.

 

There's a party on the design wall

There’s a party on the design wall

 

I’m not certain how many of them will be included in whatever project emerges from this collection, but they’re enjoying each other’s company for the moment. Eventually, they’ll tell me what they want me to do.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Chipping Away For Art”

  1. Lindsay Pavel Says:

    Gosh, I love your November block!

  2. marlenedotterer Says:

    I love that sun!

  3. Carol G Says:

    I agree with Lindsay. Beading adds just the right hint of blooms in progress.

Leave a Reply

