Underneath

I’ve been thinking about what lies underneath – what is unseen, but necessary for future growth. I wanted to show hibernation for my November calendar project. Starting with floral prints in browns and grays, I strip-pieced a base and embroidered dead plants and roots.

The earth below

The earth below

Stitches with variegated thread

Stitches with variegated thread

My idea got a jump-start with Laura Wasilowski’s hand-dyed embroidery threads.

Color + texture = fun!

Color + texture = fun!

For all the notes, sketches and supplies I keep stacked in the sewing room, my ideas are a lot like roots and seeds hiding under the ground. With the right amount of rain and sunshine, some of them poke through and flower. Others wait for the next season. It’s sort of like magic, until the hard work of growing the project begins.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Underneath”

  1. marlenedotterer Says:

    That one’s going to be cool!

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Thanks! I think I need to make one for myself, or even a series.

      Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) When Chenille Is Not Enough(www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com) Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com)

      Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

      >________________________________

  2. jkroyce Says:

    With every new post I see the correlations between various art forms, specifically quilting and writing. I keep waiting for the next seed that germinates.

  3. Carol G Says:

    I love this one. Your quilts always speak so much of your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

