All The Steps, In The Right Order

I am an Iron Maiden.

 

My badge of honor

My badge of honor

 

Laura Wasilowski came to Amador Valley Quilters, and I took her workshop. Yes, I’ve been fusing forever, but learning from the Dean of Corrections at the Chicago School of Fusing was worth it on so many levels.

 

First, I learned about myself. I’m lazy, and I don’t always follow directions. In Laura’s class, I had to follow all the steps, in the proper order. It shouldn’t be a surprise to discover that one gets better results when one follows directions, but there it is.

 

Cut-outs waiting for a project

Cut-outs waiting for a project

 

Second, I learned that I can restrain myself if I listen to my project.

 

The leaf will tell me what to do - someday

The leaf will tell me what to do – someday

 

The doodles I made for the class project had many, many curlycues and embellishments. When I cut things out and started assembling the leaf, I heard a faint whisper from the fabric. “Step away from the block now. I will tell you in my own good time what I want you to do next.”

 

Third, I learned that when you properly learn a technique, ideas present themselves. I’ve been agonizing over two small gifts I wanted to make. As soon as the class was over, I knew exactly what to do.

 

Gift one

Gift one

 

Gift one - detail

Gift one – detail

 

Gift two

Gift two

 

I can’t wait to find out what I’m going to learn tomorrow.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “All The Steps, In The Right Order”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    Words of wisdom for writers as well. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

