Where Random Things Go To Live

That’s how my daughter described my decorating style. It does me no good to deny it, so instead I’m turning that bug into a feature. I will revel in my ability to see patterns in otherwise unconnected items. Here is the item that started the conversation:

 

Celtic knots in brass

Celtic knots in brass

 

I decided to buy this brass wall hanging rather than the first one that caught my eye, which was a castle with beads on its turret spires. This piece has beads –

 

Connecting beads

Connecting beads

 

– but the casual visitor’s eye will sweep over it to the next delightful piece in the room. Or so I tell myself. Some of the next delightful pieces are from a long-expired balloon bouquet –

 

Stars on the piano

Stars on the piano

 

– and a visit to a fossil museum gift shop –

 

My very own fossil

My very own fossil

 

– so perhaps I am overestimating the ability of the casual visitor to see the patterns I see.

 

My studio might be a better place to start. At least I have two kinds of ships, and two is a beginning of a pattern. Here is a ship for my space series:

 

Space ships for the Christmas tree

Space ships for the Christmas tree

 

This ship might also appear in my space series, especially the quilts I make to illustrate my novel-in-progress about space Vikings.

 

More embellishments for quilts

Another embellishment for a quilt

 

On the other hand, perhaps I should accept that there is a reason I’m not an interior designer.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Where Random Things Go To Live”

  1. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    The Celtic knots are my favorite.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      I keep telling myself I’m going to make a quilt from Celtic knots, but I suspect the brass wallhanging is as close as I’ll get.

        Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) When Chenille Is Not Enough(www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com) Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com)

      Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

      >________________________________

  2. jkroyce Says:

    Home decorators are overrated unless you are trying for cookie-cutter perfection. Your “random things” were chosen because they speak to you. They make your home distinct and personal. I’d take that any day.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Thank you! My husband once described my sewing room as the seven layers of Troy. He’s right, of course, so it’s always a delight when someone sees my collections, not my clutter.

        Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) When Chenille Is Not Enough(www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com) Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com)

      Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

      >________________________________

  3. Jesse Bettina Temple Mays Says:

    Hi if you ever want a clay embellishment send me a pic and dimensions and I’ll create it for you. Bettina

Leave a Reply

