Spumoni Day

On my calendar of made-up food holidays, today is Spumoni Day.

 

My lunch!

My lunch!

 

Currently, this is my favorite ice cream. It’s a combination of chocolate, cherry and pistachio so really, what’s not to love? There were years when I preferred mint chip, and before that butter pecan. I have no idea why my ice cream tastes change, but there it is.

 

Spumoni features prominently in my latest novel (with Ann Anastasio), When Chenille Is Not Enough.

 

WHEN CHENILLE IS NOT ENOUGH - 2000

 

Authors are told to write what we know – or love – and we were already writing about quilting so Ann and I included ice cream. We have our space aliens adore ice cream. Our quilting heroines bond with them over the special flavor of their clan, which happens to be butter pecan. Then one of the quilters brings out spumoni, only to discover it is the flavor of the emperors. That gets the quilters invited to the alien planet, where one of them is crowned ruler and they sort of start a war.

 

As you might guess, I am using Spumoni Day to treat myself on many levels, including not starting the next project in the sewing room. Now it is time for lunch. Yes, I’m going to have dessert first.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Spumoni Day”

  1. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    I just had a spumoni jag, too – 2 times at String’s for dessert. It’s been my favorite for years. So glad you wrote about it and so glad Bolzidar and company have led you to extol its virtues in your in your Chenille trilogy.

  2. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    Even the bowl looks delicious to this hungry writer!

  3. jkroyce Says:

    Ironic that I just read your blog and my husband is out buying me a pint of salted caramel ice cream. Can’t beat it – not even with spumoni.

Leave a Reply

