Style = Story + Strata

I’ve said before that I wait for the fabric to speak to me before I start a project. I’ve also admitted that very often my color choices depend on what I can reach. This week I accepted the truth – my style is determined by the story behind the materials and where those materials are in the layers of stuff around my studio. Rather than fight the reality of my cluttered creative space, I will embrace it and turn that bug into a feature.

 

Another reality I have embraced is that I have no space for another quilt anywhere – not the walls, not the chairs or couches, not the beds – but I can always use another tote bag. I made two.

 

Lani Longshore flamingo tote

 

I had an eighth of a yard of bright pink fabric with either flying birds or flying bats (I think they’re birds), some hot pink purse handles, hot pink chenille on a spool, and a yard of flamingo fabric.

 

Lani Longshore flamingo fabric

 

The is tote is big enough to carry my sharing to quilt guild meetings, which is why I attached my name tag to it.

 

Lani Longshore celtic box tote

 

I finished the small, square tote from the fabric that Margaret Misegades gave me. The celtic fabric really is from Ireland.

 

Lani Longshore dove

 

The dove is not from Ireland, but I thought it went well with the celtic pieces.

 

Lani Longshore button

 

I bought the button embellishments in Santa Fe at the SAQA conference. They are made by Robin Pascal of Perfect Buttons. When I bought them, I had no idea how appropriate that name is, as I think they really are perfect for this project.

 

And so it is with my new-found label for my style. It doesn’t really describe what comes out of my studio, but it certainly describes my process. For the moment, that is as good as I’m going to get.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Style = Story + Strata”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    I particularly love the “strata” part of the definition!

Leave a Reply

