The Idea Warehouse

I’m going to my first Studio Art Quilt Associates meeting this weekend. We’re supposed to bring something – one thing – that illustrates our quilting style. That is a more complicated assignment than you might realize.

 

I could bring a work-in-progress, such as this vase I’m making from some fabric my friend Margaret Misegades gave me.

 

Lani Longshore vase pieces

 

I could bring a work-currently-abandoned-but-not-forgotten, such as the quilt book my friend Ann Anastasio and I started to write.

 

Lani Longshore face designs

 

I could also bring one of the many storage units tucked around my studio holding notes and ideas for future projects.

 

Lani Longshore shelf

 

You get the idea. As prolific a quilter as I like to believe I am, there are stacks of books, fabrics, notions and sketches all around my studio. It is a the place ideas go to hide, to party, to have a mid-life crisis and emerge as something entirely new. Define my style? Wait, I’ve got some notes on that –

 

Lani Longshore file

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “The Idea Warehouse”

  1. Carol G Says:

    I think it would be hard to define your style with one thing but that means you are NOT BORING!

Leave a Reply

