Another Take On Independence Day

I will celebrate Independence Day with more than usual exuberance this year. I finished the quilt for my brother’s second grandson, which means I am ready for my trip home next week.

Lani Longshore Avery Longshore's quilt

To be honest, I can’t remember the last time I had the gift quilts ready before a flight someplace. Usually I am stitching the binding while waiting for the final boarding call.

Coincidentally, my Challenge project is mostly finished.

Lani Longshore Challenge project

I would like to do more beading, but the quilt is starting to tell me there are sufficient embellishments right now, thank you very much. My quilts have always told me what they want, but lately they’ve become down right mouthy.

Still, I’m reveling in the unexpected sensation of having things done. I don’t imagine this is what the signers of the Declaration of Independence were feeling, but I think celebrating freedom from the to-do list is a lovely way to enjoy the 4th.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Another Take On Independence Day”

  1. marlenedotterer Says:

    My children’s great-grandmother made quilts for all of them. They were so wonderful. Sadly, my own grandchildren will not have that joy. I seem to be allergic to needles.

    Have fun on your trip!

Leave a Reply

