The Best I Can Do

Three quilts waited for me this week, layered and basted. The sewing table was cleared (well, cleared enough), but my calendar was not. This was one of those weeks when I had to accept what I accomplished as the best I could do, because life got in the way of quilting.

 

The good news is, I finished a gift quilt.

 

Lani Longshore Landon Leveille quilt

 

This will go to one of my brother’s grandsons. Here is the back.

 

Lani Longshore Landon Leveille fish

 

The quilt for my brother’s second grandson is next on the stack to be quilted. Here is the back for it.

 

Lani Longshore Avery Longshore elephant

 

The third quilt is the Challenge project. It is much smaller, but will require some embellishment. Lucky for me, I found a new bead shop.

 

Lani Longshore Challenge

 

Yes, I know, I probably have beads just like this somewhere in the sewing room, but I think finding the new bead store was my reward for not grumbling when I had to spend a day in an unfamiliar city for family matters. Sometimes, the best you can do is to take the bead in the hand and ignore the bead in the bin.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “The Best I Can Do”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    You reminded me of my own compulsiveness. I save many things (like you save beads). I think I organize them well, but when it comes time to find them, I can’t remember where I decided they should be stashed. Usually it’s about a month after I’ve purchased a replacement item, that I find the old one – and think to myself, that’s right where I should have put it.

  2. Cathy Lacer Says:

    Lani these are amazing! Nevermind about the beads. It was time to find new stuff!

  3. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    I’ve never cared about the difference of a bird in hand and two in the bush. A bead (for me, a button) in the hand and two in the bin got my attention.

Leave a Reply

