After The End

The Progressive Party finished another project round this month. We made a fabric challenge for ourselves. Each of us put in a square of fabric and the challenge was to use as much of it as possible in the quilt top. Since we have very different styles, even when we tried to keep the tastes of the rest of the group in mind we didn’t exactly come up with a complementary collection. That was all part of the fun – what’s the use of a challenge if it isn’t hard?

 

My approach to the project was determined by one fabric (not mine) that had PARTY written on it. I took out a scrap of cow fabric and instructed the group to make a quilt that said “Party ’til the cows come home.”

 

Party cows

Party cows

 

They listened, and I love the result. There was just one teensy problem – the top wasn’t finished. There is so much going on in this piece that it needed a border to give the eye a place to rest. I auditioned several different fabrics, trying to find something that said “I end here.”

 

Party with accessories

Party with accessories

 

After staring at the wall long enough that my eyeballs were spinning, I decided I couldn’t decide. I used the fabrics by size. I had enough of one fabric for the side borders, enough of two others for top and bottom borders. Now, if you’ll excuse me, it’s party time.

Lani Longshore Party 'Til The Cows Come Home final

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “After The End”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    I love it. What a fun piece. It does make me think “Party.” And a great time was had by all.

Leave a Reply

