The Surface of Infinity, Wired

The most amazing thing happened to my Challenge Project – it told me it didn’t want beads. I’ve never had a project that refused beads before. Perhaps it was tired of being fussed over. First I had to wire its tail to make a Mobius strip.

Beading wire works well

Beading wire works well

 

I had considered satin stitching the edges in lieu of binding, but that didn’t seem enough when I finished the wiring, so I bound the quilt with a sheer ribbon.

Gauze ribbon is a great binding for small projects

Gauze ribbon is a great binding for small projects

 

 

The result was exactly what I wanted. You really can travel both sides of the loop without crossing the edges.

The finished project

The finished project

 

 

Since I was in the mood for handwork, I finished my cross-stitch kit. Well, I say finished but what I really mean is I adapted the pattern (because I can never quite count right) and kept adding embroidery and beads until it seemed like a good place to end.

Spider and bat button

Spider and bat button

 

I managed to get one more project off the pile, which was a pillow made from elephant fabric for my daughter.

Lani Longshore elephant pillow

It seems an appropriate comment on my life in the studio – never forgetting that my goal is to reduce the piles before they start creating their own gravity wells.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Surface of Infinity, Wired”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    You’ve been most productive. I want to know where home will be for these beautiful pieces. I know the elephant piece is for your daughter, but what will you do with the challenge project, and the spider/bat cross stitch?

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Well, now, that’s a very good question – where do these projects go? I’m thinking of incorporating the cross-stitch into another project as I have a boat-load of Halloween fabric (not a surprise). The challenge project will join my growing stack of small quilts for the moment.

        Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) When Chenille Is Not Enough(www.smashwords.com, Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com) Lani Longshore’s Blog (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com)

      Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

      >________________________________

Leave a Reply

