The Surface of Infinity

The title of this blog is the theme of the next Challenge project. I’m not complaining (mainly because it is my idea) but I wish I had known before I issued it that the universe was just messing with me. I read the line in a book about philosophy, science and religion and lost all track of the argument being presented as I considered what the surface of infinity would look like if translated into fabric. I even had an idea of where to start . . . but I’m getting ahead of myself.

My personal challenge for the last few years has been to make the assignment from fabric I’ve already got. I give myself extra points for adapting a project I had already started. My plan for this assignment was to use my extensive collection of gray fabrics, maybe even create a gray series. As well as the fabrics from my gray tote bag, I also had these:

 

gray fabrics

 

 

gray fabrics

 

As I separated the fabrics, waiting for them to tell me what to do, I noticed one of the pieces had a little bit of pink. That reminded me of my pink, black and gray collection:

 

pink and gray fabrics

 

– and my pink and brown collection:

 

pink and brown fabrics

 

So I guess my assignment should have been called “the surface of infinite possibilities” – which, now that I think of it, is a very good description of my sewing room.

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Surface of Infinity”

  1. Carol G Says:

    Can’t wait to see where this interesting idea goes. I really like your gray collection.

Leave a Reply

