Made-Up Math Block

I love made-up math days. Today is one – 3/13/13. It occurred to me the numbers can also be spread apart – 3/1/3/1/3. Then it occurred to me that I could make a block based on those dimensions. This is the block:

made-up math block

There are 3 squares in a row. They are 3 1/2″ squares. The three rows are separated by 1 1/2″ strips. I put two extra strips on the side so I could set the squares like the Twist and Turn pattern.

made-up math 2 blocks

By the time I got to the third block, I realized I was making a split 9-Patch, so started paying more attention to color placement. Still, when you get four blocks together the result is very scrappy.

made-up math 4 blocks

My original plan was to sew a 2 1/2″ border around it using the same fabric on all four sides. Then my eye fell on a small pile of 2 1/2″ strips and I decided to audition a scrap border.

made-up math framed

I’m not sure where this piece is going, but I suspect it will become a sample for my prison class. In the meantime, I have to prepare for tomorrow, which is another made-up math day. March 14 is Pi Day – 3.14 – and must be celebrated with pies. I believe I’ll start with cherry.

 

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Made-Up Math Block”

  1. Carol G Says:

    Cute 3/13/13 theme quilt! This must also be scrappy border day. I was just thinking of doing the same thing on a community svc quilt in progress.

Leave a Reply

