Repurposing

The pile of leftovers from the vase project reached critical mass. There was no avoiding an explosion unless I made something different this week. There was also no obvious best choice for the next project, so I grabbed what was on top and put some cording around it.

vase fabric sculpture

I like the shapes of the pieces that remained from my first (failed) vase. I also like the little slot that was created when I stopped sewing two sides together to wind another bobbin and started sewing an inch further down than I should have. I’ll sew some buttons, large beads or jewelry fragments on this piece and loop the ribbon around it.

The next bits turned into a non-functional votive holder.

spirit house votive holder

I had thought this would be a functional votive holder, but the fire risk is too high. That’s when I added the roof, just to make it clear that one really should not light the candle.

As I was congratulating myself on repurposing the debris on my sewing table, I noticed some leftover blue embroidery floss. The floss matched my blue socks, which had a hole in the toe. Then I noticed an old wooden egg that never made it to Easter Egg status, and I realized I could save my collection of socks that go so well with my jeans.

darning kit

I have a decorative tin box – all that remains of a gift of dark chocolate and peppermint candy – which will now become my darning box. I’m not sure the box will fit in my sock drawer, but that’s a problem for another day. Now is the time to celebrate getting some things off the sewing table.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Repurposing”

  1. Carol G Says:

    I bet if you have a covered area for the votive holder, a family of wrens might find it cute place to call home.

Leave a Reply

