Life Happens

I had every intention of putting things in boxes last week. It didn’t happen. Like the darkness before the dawn, my sewing room got more crowded. It seemed the only solution would be to rent a dumpster.

My studio, my scary room

My studio, my scary room

Then I had a moment of clarity, and realized this was just another good news-bad news situation. The bad news is I’ve been blogging about organizing my sewing room for three years and it’s still a mess. The good news is, the mess changes. I do make progress, but then life happens and I’ve got another mess. They key words in that sentence are life happens. I’m alive, and I’m being creative. If occasional chaos is the price of creativity, I’m happy to pay.

In another good news-bad news situation, other members of the family decided to include clear-outs, clean-ups and reorganizations in their New Year to-do lists.

I need to find another place for these

I need to find another place for these

The bad news is some of those clear-outs – such as the book collection cull – will require my attention. The good news is that I might be able to take advantage of the mess to disguise some of my piles as I’m sorting them. In chaos, there is profit.

Finally, we still have the Christmas mess to contend with.

Santa filled the stockings, then left the wrapping supplies

Santa filled the stockings, then left the wrapping supplies

So, chaos rules in my house on the first days of 2013. We will do battle, chaos and I. Don’t tell me if you bet on chaos to win.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Life Happens”

  1. jgp60 Says:

    I know the feeling! I would have liked to make an organised start to the New Year but things feel pretty chaotic here too. Hope your situation improves soon!

  2. Carol G Says:

    I have lately seen several examples of people using one solitary word for their “New Year’s Resolution.” I am doing this for the first time and have chosen FLOW. Check out this inspiring website http://www.pursuit-of-happiness.org/history-of-happiness/mihaly-csikszentmihalyi/

    “When we focus our attention on a consciously chosen goal, our psychic energy literally “flows” in the direction of that goal, resulting in a re-ordering and harmony within consciousness”

    Hope you have a wonderful 2013!

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Interesting website. I have experienced “flow” before, both in physical and artistic activity. My favorite yoga classes are usually the “flow” classes. I’ll ponder using that when I brave my scary room again.

  3. jkroyce Says:

    I’d gladly suffer a little clutter to have your creativity.

Leave a Reply

