12/12/12

I love made-up math days. Ever since the turn of the millennium (and doesn’t that have a lovely ring to it?) I’ve looked forward to the triple digit days. This is the last, although we still have 11/12/13 next year, and 12/13/14 the year after.

While I won’t ascribe cosmic significance to the day (even though it would be fun to try), I can say that it’s been a pretty good week. We got the Christmas tree. It isn’t decorated yet, but the pagan in me always enjoys just having the tree in the house, in all its evergreen glory.

My druid ancestors would be happy

My druid ancestors would be happy

The dog isn’t too excited, but at least she’s leaving it alone.

Such a bored critter

Such a bored critter

I don’t have my moose/reindeer collection out, mainly because the garage is full of the kids’ stuff and I couldn’t get to it. However, I bought a moose ornament over the summer, so that is representing all of its sisters.

moose ornament

Finally, I had an idea of a different kind of vase I could make when a few scraps of ribbon got piled up in the same corner.

ribbons

I haven’t figured out what I want for a base yet, but I’m confident that will be revealed in good time. For now, I am enjoying a rare moment of calm, peace and joy in the holiday season. I hope y’all are too, and have a great triple digit day.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “12/12/12”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    I vote for leaving the tree au naturale. You can enjoy the fresh pine scent for the duration of the holiday season and putting everythng away when the season is over will be a breeze.

  2. quiltfever Says:

    Love the new moose ornament. Is it raku?

  3. marlenedotterer Says:

    I stopped with the tree this year. It IS decorated, but that’s it. So if all you get up there are a few red ribbons, you’re doing good!

Leave a Reply

