A Sense of Place

The Challenge project for December is to represent a real place in fabric – city, country, whatever. I thought I would use the assignment to finally make a quilt about our family reunion in Alaska. I brought out the fabrics:

and the embellishments:

Then I found the notes I made from the book Maphead by Ken Jennings. The book is great, with lovely maps that could become quilts, and terms that could become quilt titles (“wanderwhim” as opposed to “wanderlust” – is that great or what). I stared at the first strip of my Alaska quilt –

– and realized that I have no sense of place (or direction – I still get lost in Livermore, and I’ve lived here almost thirty years). Home is where I am, wherever that may be. I’ve moved around enough that I don’t get attached to any particular location. So I sliced up the strip and will make small projects.

These small projects will represent my approach to place. I look for one familiar thing to make sense of all the unfamiliar things. If I’m very lucky, I’ll interpret my environment correctly, although I have been known to find the worst part of any town purely by accident when left to my own wanderings.

These projects will also give me a chance to play with embellishments:

Those are fireflies on the ribbon – they glow in the dark

and technique:

Step 1

Step 2

Step 3

Although I don’t have a sense of place, I do have a good sense of where I like to be, and right now, that’s my studio.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “A Sense of Place”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    I, too, have moved many times in my life. And, like you, it’s always something that I’ve brought with me from the prior home that grounds me in the new place. I enjoyed the photos and they were lovely, but I’ve seen your actual work, and no picture can do it justice.

  2. quiltfever Says:

    Now that I am having to translate concepts into quilts, I find it especially interesting to see the evolution of other people’s thought processes. Thanks for the great explanation/documentation.

  3. Marlene Dotterer Says:

    I can’t even follow what you’re doing. Totally quilt-blind, that’s me. But it’s fun to see what you do with things!

  4. jgp60 Says:

    This looks very creative – it’s well beyond where I’m at! I agree with quiltfever’s comments above – thanks for sharing some insight into how a quilt design takes shape. I’m sure the finished product will be amazing! Interesting thoughts about a sense of place, too – when you move it does help to have familiar things around to make you feel at home in the new place. Then I think your brain gradually makes the connections. However mine is struggling at the moment to express this concept in words – I worked a night shift last night and haven’t had a lot of sleep today!

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      I don’t think anyone is at their best when sleep deprived, but you expressed yourself quite well. Perhaps I’ll use your comment about having familiar things in a new place to explain why I look for a quilt store first thing!

      Lani Longshore

      https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

