Sometimes You’re The Windshield, Sometimes You’re The Bug

This was a windshield week for me. Just as I was wondering how I was going to find time to make a crazy quilt for the backdrop of the booth Ann Anastasio and I will have at the SAQA conference in Santa Fe, my friend Rose Seay announced at the Amador Valley Quilters meeting that she had a crazy quilt looking for a good home. She cautioned us that it was worn, and made in the 1940s or 50s, and I know she was thinking no one would want it. But she was wrong!

Isn’t it pretty?

crazy quilt detail

There are many possibilities here!

The quilt will be perfect as a backdrop, and I can add whatever embroidery or embellishments we need to make it correspond to the quilt we have in our new novel, When Chenille Is Not Enough. Rose is happy, I’m happy, joy abounds.

The next serendipitous finding also occurred at the guild meeting. The speaker, Alethea Ballard, was selling itsy-bitsy mitts, perfect for taking hot mugs or bowls from the microwave.

The front . . .

. . . and the back.

She also sold patterns, with the insulated batting. I bought one mitt for me because it is so darned cute, and the pattern because I still have time to make stocking stuffers for a select few good girls and boys.

Finally, I forced myself into the sewing room to tidy up. It doesn’t look all that different, but I re-organized a couple of bins (I even consolidated a few of them, freeing up a little space), dealt with two piles (throwing things away can be liberating!), and addressed the issue of my plastic bag collection.

I teased my mother once about her plastic bag collection – mostly bread bags that she washed out and used to freeze whole tomatoes. Mine is worse. These are bags that were used for quilt kits. When the completed top came back, so did the bag. I thought I was doing a good job of recycling the bags, but I neglected to factor in the bags that other people used for the kits they cut for me. Those bags never made it back to them. At some level I knew this, but chose to ignore it. Ah, well, that’s a task for next week.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Sometimes You’re The Windshield, Sometimes You’re The Bug”

  1. carol g Says:

    You have the greatest post titles! And what a fabulous gift of the FINISHED crazy quilt.

Leave a Reply

