Gifts, Expected and Not

Mom’s visit is nearing the end. She and I made a box together.

She is taking some Christmas fabric home with her to make more boxes. This makes me happy on so many levels – we finished a project that isn’t staying here, some of my stash is going to go into a project that I don’t have to make, and Mom and I had fun together.

Mom also finished the purple hat for my daughter. I mention the color because you might not be able to tell:

My camera insists on turning the hat blue. Trust me, the hat is royal purple – not even a hint of blue!

I always considered that one of the gifts of being a fiber artist is a chance to play with color. I know that the value of any given fabric depends on what is next to it, that different light can make some colors shape-shift into an entirely different color, and that greens never come out well on film. However, I have never had a true purple disguise itself so completely as this purple hat did with my digital camera. Perhaps in my next life I will take up photography in a more disciplined fashion and play with color in new ways. For now, I’ll take the gift of the purple that wanted to be blue and keep it for future projects. I bet there’s a quilt in there somewhere.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Gifts, Expected and Not”

  1. jkroyce Says:

    It sounds like you had a great time with your mother. My Mom arrives in January and I am so looking forward to it. She’ll be with us for two months.

Leave a Reply

