One, Two, Three, Many

Because the beginning of the month is my busiest week and I’m expecting company next week, I have been paralyzed by deadlines. My mind-body must think crouching in a corner and hoping everything will just go away is a survival skill, but for the life of me I can’t figure out why. I told myself I had to do one thing, just one thing, in the hopes that momentum would let me finish my to-do list.

It didn’t, but I did make some progress on a cross-stitch pattern. Once again, I learned that I can’t count. I managed to put the base stitches mostly in the right places. Since this is an abstract tree, I gave myself permission to put the rest of the stitches and beads where they tell me they want to go:

 

I can see the tree (if I squint)

Next I pawed through some blocks that were made from sorta-kinda-maybe the same fabrics. I was hoping to make a baby quilt from them.

 

Bunnies in blue and black

Reality gave me a dope-slap, and I accepted that they don’t go together. However, I found fabric to make two projects (possibly a baby quilt and a table runner – we’ll see), so I consider this exercise a success.

In the meantime, I’ve been processing fruit. The dried apples and pears are now residing in three separate containers:

 

Healthy snacks that we really do eat

If I am lucky, this latest round of crouching in corners is over so I can meet my deadlines and have the house cleaned before my mother arrives. That will still leave many projects, but I’m used to that.

There’s always more to do

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “One, Two, Three, Many”

  1. carol g Says:

    I like where your blue tree is going. Your dried apples make me miss my Grandmother who had lots of apple trees and gave us a huge bag of dried fruit every Christmas.

Leave a Reply

