Acceptance and the Real New Year

Although I haven’t been in school in decades, and even my kids are finished (for the time being), Labor Day is still the beginning of the year for me. This is the time when I have to make sure last year’s produce (whether made into juice, jam or dried) has been eaten, because more is coming:

Pears for drying

Seriously, a lot more:

 

Grapes for juicing

 

 

More grapes for juicing

Life is complicated this year by having both kids move back, with their stuff:

My goal was to clear away clutter – not going to happen. What will happen is that I will be more focused on efficient use of time and space so when the kids move out again my stuff won’t automatically expand to fill the gap.

The good news is, I am learning to accept that I am not in control. Helping me along the route to letting things go is having Abby’s quilt on the floor:

 

The dog’s quilt

It is one thing to make a quilt knowing that a dog is going to sit on it. It is another to actually see the dog sit on it. After the first week, I realized I was okay with the situation. I even tried taking a picture of Abby on the quilt, but she’s not fond of cameras:

 

Abby escaping the paparazzi – me

So, here’s to deep inhales, full exhales, meditations on peace, and the beginning of something new.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Acceptance and the Real New Year”

  1. marlenedotterer Says:

    Ha! I can just see you chasing the dog around the place trying to get a picture. I’m a little jealous about your kids moving back home. Sometimes I really miss mine. Good luck with everything!

  2. TheaM Says:

    oh my – maybe you could rent “Failure to Launch” for family movie night… (just kidding!)
    I’m still trying to get my kids to take all their stuff from my attic/basement – seems they don’t really want all this stuff after all…
    hoping you have an easier time getting your kids to take all their stuff with them!

Leave a Reply

