Here’s When A Do-over Would Be Nice

To give you an idea of how far behind I am, last week’s to-do list is still on top of my piles. I sort of know where the time went, because we had two exterior doors replaced and the kids’ belongings were delivered by the moving people. The door replacement project did not begin on a good note – I spent the morning telling the supplier that we were not going to accept one of the doors (it had a dent) and since it was a stock door he could jolly well find another one and pay for it to be delivered while the contractor was still here. The kids’ belongings arrived in good order but now comes the unpacking.

One of the pleasant surprises of the week was that our daughter’s couch fits nicely in the living room. We knew it would fit the space because we measured, but there’s fitting and and then there’s fitting. We had never had a couch in the living room before because we wanted it to be a music/reading room. After all those years of having just two comfy chairs, bookshelves and a grand piano I convinced myself there wasn’t space for a couch. Now that I know I am wrong, I guess I’m going to have to look at couches when she gets her own apartment.

In the  meantime, a week has passed and I got in the sewing room only long enough to repair the pillow my husband uses for back support. Since I have nothing new to show you, I thought I would post an old picture of a past project:

This is a quilt I made for Sacred Threads, a biennial exhibition for quilts with a spiritual connection – healing, grief, peace, the spiritual journey. If you are interested, you can get more information at www.sacredthreadsquilts.com. The next show is in 2013, with entry deadlines between January 9 and March 9, 2013. I had one quilt accepted for showing long ago, and have entered at odd times since then. The quilt above – City of God – didn’t make it, but I’m thinking this might be the year I enter again.

Of course, that assumes that the weeks between then and now will be a whole lot more productive than this past week. At the rate unexpected time sinks are appearing in my path, that may not be a reasonable assumption to make!

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Here’s When A Do-over Would Be Nice”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    I checked out the website–nice theme for a quilt show. I like your City of God quilt but would wish you had included it’s story.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Oh, right! Tells you how scattered I feel when I neglected an opportunity to tell my quilt story. The quilt began with a collection of red, white and black cityscape fabric. They were sitting in a convenient corner when the call for entries to Sacred Quilts arrived, and I immediately thought of St. Augustin’s The City of God. I used a half-square triangle and lattice to create a series of plazas and the illusion of layers. I wanted the viewer to imagine soaring over a city, then plunging through its infrastructure. The triangles in the borders represent the four directions, and bring the viewer out again to imagine the perfect dwelling place – where it would be, what it would mean, how it would look. I embellished it with small crosses.

      Lani

      † Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

