Revenge of The Collections

I was so proud of myself last week, what with my plan to turn the pecan pie quilt into a table decoration and use more beads than originally planned. Silly me. Yes, I used up more beads than planned. However, I needed more than planned.

Here is the piece that I thought I would end up with:

These are the beads I wanted to use:

 

The picture is a bit out of focus, but what’s important is the color. With my practiced quilter’s eye, I was certain I had enough of these lovely, buttery beads to go all around the edge in a gentle scallop. About three-quarters of the way around I knew there would be more edge after the beads ran out. Turns out there were nearly four inches of edge left over, so even if I tried restringing the whole thing I would still be short.

I searched through all of my brown beads, and there weren’t any that matched. This is what came close:

 

This picture is out of focus, too, but again what’s important is the color. Which isn’t at all like the other beads.

Then I looked at some of my other collections – my ribbon collection, to be exact. This is the lemonade I made from the lemon the universe (aided by my not-so-expert beader’s eye) lobbed at me:

 

Mary Ellen Hopkins said that if you put a color in a quilt, people will think it belongs there. I’m expanding that advice to embellishments, too. The bow covers the different color beads fully and evenly. If anyone asks, I’m calling it a design decision.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Revenge of The Collections”

  1. Carol G Says:

    I’m proud of you for not purchasing more beads. Very resourceful embellishing! Love the quote about color in a quilt 🙂

  2. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    Just call it an art quilt. Anything goes with that distinction, right? I love the homey look of the piece. Please bring tomorrow so I can see it in person and, most importantly, touch it.

Leave a Reply

