Finished with fish

I only accomplished one thing in the sewing room this week, but that’s enough. Here is my Progressive fish quilt:

 

I might call this Fish ‘N Cat

The binding was chosen from fabric I could reach, but I think it works well.

I haven’t found my notes on the quilt yet, but it is possible that the top was started twenty years ago. As I mentioned in a previous blog, I was waiting for the perfect quilting pattern to come along. In the last two decades I’ve finally learned that perfect doesn’t exist. I’ve also learned enough about machine quilting that I’m pleased with the outcome.

Here is a detail:

I still have the label and sleeve to make, but since I’ve got to show it at Challenge next week, I know the quilt won’t be waiting another twenty years to be called done. Time now for my happy dance.

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Finished with fish”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    This is such a wonderful little quilt. Glad the upcoming deadline will get it permanently off your UFO list!

  2. TheaM Says:

    happy dancing with you, Lani! Your quilting is just the right touch…. I would have said perfect, but you’d deny it…. 😉 I seem to remember including a green net thingie and some other plastic foliage for embellishments – maybe the notebook is hiding with them!?
    Binding is right on! doesn’t it feel great to finish these oldies?
    I still have a set of blocks (r/w/b w stars) that I won in a monthly block drawing at AVQ around the same time frame – if I ever find them again… I WILL get that together!

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Thanks! Yes, I still have the green mesh net and fish food. I also have a set of fish earrings that would work well as an embellishment that Ann’s daughter gave me. I’ll be playing around with different ways to include those items when I display the quilt. Lani

      Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

  3. Maya Says:

    That is a wonderful quilt Lani!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

