Another New Start

One of the great things about having the kids come home to visit is that I have to clear out all the crap I put in their rooms. My husband would prefer that I simply stop putting stuff in their rooms, but we all know that isn’t going to happen. Both kids are visiting this month but at different times so I have had a chance to clear out one room at a time.

Lately I’ve been keeping the fabric for the prison program in the kids’ rooms. I managed to get all the stuff out of our daughter’s room. Some of it was even sorted and moved in plastic bins to the garage.

Most of it wasn’t.

 

The stuffed dog is guarding the fabric, not growling at it.

If the universe smiles on me, I’ll get a chance to sort at least some of this between the time our daughter leaves and our son arrives. I’ve made a bit of a start:

I’ve been going through the fabric faster than I thought I would, and the quilt guild has offered to store new donations of fabric for the program. With any luck, by the time the kids are back at Christmas, they’ll both have tidy rooms. Yes, believing this will happen is about the same as believing in Santa Claus, but Christmas is the time for miracles, yes?

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Another New Start”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    Sounds like you are on a roll, moving faster, getting more done. I KNOW you can do it by Christmas since future donations are not coming to your house! How many students are in your prison class?

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      I just broke my own vow – more fabric for the program came to my house. Ah, well. The donor is moving out of state and kept the box for two weeks – while she was packing! – so that I would have time to find a place for it. I have five regular students in the quilting class, but there are always an extra two or three that come for a little while than rotate out. Sometimes one of those will become a regular just as I lose a student who is being transferred or released. It’s interesting to see how the numbers remain stable even as the names change. Lani

      Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

Leave a Reply

