In Chaos There Is Opportunity

The best thing about taking classes is the new project. The worst thing about taking classes is the new project. I had a project going, brought a project back from Santa Fe, and discovered upon my return that a project I thought I could delay until July needs to be done now. No wonder my creative space looks like this:

While staring at the piles and wondering where to start, I decided to begin with what doesn’t work. Turns out what doesn’t work most is the great idea I had for stacking bins of cut squares.

There isn’t room to move the bins around. I suppose I should have realized there will never be room to move things around, but there’s nothing like experience to help you recognize a mistake when you make it again. So, on to Plan B. Pause for dramatic effect – and . . . nothing.

While waiting for Plan B to make its way into my consciousness, I scanned the piles once again:

and again:

Still no plan. Ah, well. This is what life comes to sometimes – fall down six times, get up seven. In the next week I will choose a corner every day, and pick up what’s in that corner. It’s going to be a long week, but in chaos there is opportunity.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “In Chaos There Is Opportunity”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    Sometimes I hate that word–opportunity. We used it a lot when I worked and it always meant fixing some awful situation πŸ™‚

  2. Sort It Canada Says:

    Are you wanting to keep all of the scraps you have? Or are you willing to part with some? Just curious πŸ™‚

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      The scraps pictured are from kits for the prison class I teach. The fabric was donated to me to bring to my inmate-students, so, yeah, I’ll be keeping all of them. We make an amazing number of quilts from 2 1/2″ squares. Lani

      Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

Leave a Reply

