Music and other merriments

Last year I cleared a space for a small CD player on a shelf. I never got the CD player, and the space was filled with other stuff. This year, my husband suggested I use our daughter’s old music machine, which is something of a tank. I tried to find a place for it, but wasn’t making progress. The light bulb went off over my husband’s head and he bought me an early Mother’s Day present.

My very own machine!

The gift has benefited me in many ways. First, I can easily have music in my work space. Technically, I’ve had the capacity to bring music to the sewing room by (a) singing, (b) remembering the correct order to use the various remotes to get the various little black boxes to switch over to the speakers in my sewing room, or (c) remembering the proper command to get the music on our computer playing. Option (a) works sometimes, when I remember the words. Option (b) never worked well, and it also meant I had to go to the family room to change the cd. Option (c) worked once and then my husband rewrote the code, and it meant that I had to remember the actual name of the piece I wanted to hear rather than the way I usually do, which is by album cover (“it’s on the cd with the red background and the dog in the corner”).

Another benefit is that not only will I keep that little shelf from getting buried under fabric, I will also keep the area in front of it clear so I can kneel down and get the cd in and out of the machine.

As a side note, I have been amused to discover that while I’ve been listening to bagpipes exclusively for the last three weeks when I run errands and play music in the car, in the sewing room I have only put only piano (Ludovico Einaudi, to be precise) and early vocal music (Gregorian chant, French songs from the 1100s). I’m not sure what this says about my state of mind when I’m on the road, although I have noticed that I skip the ballads and go straight to the battle marches.

The last benefit was that the fabric that was piled on the little shelf belonged to a project that I wanted to get done for Challenge group. And I did:

Aunt Sukey's Butterfly

This is also a Progressive Party project. The other ladies made all the Aunt Sukey’s Choice blocks and I did the butterfly. They thought that was cheating and it probably was, so I tried to make up for it with the quilting:

I leave you with a picture of some of my Easter decorations:

My kids may be too big for Easter egg hunts, but I can still put one on for myself. The hunting part comes when I have to put them away – I don’t always remember all the nooks and crannies where I set them on display!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Music and other merriments”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    Glad you have music in the sewing room now. It’s such a mood enhancer. Lovely butterfly (and quilting). Plus I love those blocks AND the dragonfly border.

  2. TheaM Says:

    well, when I can’t remember the words, I just make them up! 😉
    ‘real’ music in the sewing room is definitely a huge benefit!

Leave a Reply

