Twilight of the Thread

I gave myself permission to get rid of thread this week. Some of my thread is very old, some of it was meant for techniques that I don’t use, and some of it has been waiting for a special project that will never come. The old stuff I threw away – it’s stressful enough during an election year without trying to keep smiling when my thread breaks. I boxed up some of the rest – I’ll give it one more chance, in case I use those techniques in the next six months, then it goes to a good home. The special thread that I won’t ever use is going to my friendship groups in hopes of finding someone who will appreciate it.

The thread that was left went into two small-ish cases that I can keep by my sewing machine:

It may not be the most elegant solution, but it really works for me. I used to keep thread in a couple of small chests on the shelves that would often get blocked in by other stuff. Also, the thread would hide in the drawers – yes, I know the drawers are small, but thread is sneaky – which is why I have six spools of red.

Next came the embroidery floss. I have been finishing up cross-stitch kits that I acquired so long ago I no longer remember whether I bought them, was given them, or found them on the doorstep. While I felt a sense of accomplishment when the last stitch was crossed, I also felt a sense of oppression when I saw how much floss was left. I decided I would make small things for my brother’s soon-to-arrive grandchildren:

 

Boat on a bib

 

Bird on a bib

 

Booties with gull and shrimp

With what was left from the leftover embroidery floss (and an extra skein of purple) I decided to experiment with a tote bag:

My first attempt at a purple and black rose didn’t quite work, but that’s okay. The embroidery floss served its purpose, even if it is now living in my trash can instead of on the tote bag. Using the free stuff instead of the good stuff let me experiment, which helps me learn and grow. Now I’ll keep going until I create the rose that I want – and I’ve cleaned out one more pile in the sewing room!

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Twilight of the Thread”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    Wish I had known you were tossing old thread. I use it for basting and I go through a lot. I always thread basted my hand quilting projects and now I’m even using that method for my straight line machine quilting. I hate those pins. Cute baby items and great that you got to experiment with the rest of the “free” floss before touching the good stuff.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Actually, I have quite a lot of hand quilting thread available. The stuff I threw out might have broken even in a hand-sewing needle so don’t mourn it, but if you’d like the hand quilting thread let me know where to send it and it is yours.

      Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

  2. Sort It Canada Says:

    You organized embroidery floss, and I went through my dental floss. Overall, sounds like a productive week πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

