BSOs and UFOs

I felt guilty about clutter this week, perhaps because I admitted sweeping stuff into a box so I could quilt. Since I didn’t have a complete idea for the quilting pattern anyway, when I got to the part where a little more thinking was required I multi-tasked and sorted out the box while I mulled over what to do next. This is the result:

You can see the floor!

The ideal quilt pattern still hadn’t presented itself, so I continued to sort. It was at this point that I realized how much of my life is ruled by BSOs (bright shiny objects) and UFOs (unfinished objects). In clearing out some of the clutter on the sewing table, I found these:

These are celtic-themed stamps and some glittery ink. I bought the set long enough ago that I can’t remember any of the details. I think it was at the Caledonian Club Scottish Games, and I suspect I had an idea for a project. I know my little hand stuffed them into my shopping basket because the ink is shiny and the designs are cool. I also know that the reason they were hiding under a pile is that I had another UFO with a more pressing deadline to finish before I could start the project that required stamping. Then they got buried. The good news is I still have an idea for a project that could require those stamps.

I sorted a few more things and ran across this:

This is an ornament that I bought because it is shiny. And a bear. And shiny. The good news here is Christmas is scheduled for this December again so I will be able to put it on the tree. Perhaps by then the ideal quilting pattern for my mosaic tile quilt will make itself known and I can scratch one more UFO off the list.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “BSOs and UFOs”

  1. TheaM Says:

    there can never be too much shiny….. eyes glazing over…..

  2. quiltfever Says:

    You are really doing some long-term planning! Cute bear really does deserve to be on the 2012 tree.

  3. Margaret Says:

    You may recall that on the television show “Firefly,” saying “shiny” was an accolade. I have an autographed picture from Captain Mal, advising me to “stay shiny.” I can only try to live up to that.

  4. candy Says:

    Too funny! My room looks like tha often. In my world, that bear would be lost again by Christmas! Better hang on to him cuz he’s cute as heck!

Leave a Reply

