The Miracle of Boxes

I believe in many things which aren’t true. For example, I cling to the five-second rule, particularly if what I’ve dropped is something I really want to eat. Since I also use my belief in the creed “Your immune system – use it or lose it” to justify not washing the floor, I know I’m playing Russian roulette with my digestive track. Nevertheless, if that last bit of brownie slips betwixt plate and lip I will pick it up and pop it in my mouth. That I haven’t spent a good part of my life battling food poisoning bolsters my belief in the five-second rule, and also in miracles.

This week my belief in miracles was enhanced with boxes. I can’t say I’ve always loved boxes, but certainly have since I became a quilter. There are almost as many patterns for boxes as there are for tote bags, so it was a natural progression for me: using boxes to collecting boxes to making boxes to hoarding boxes.

My latest organization scheme has been to use plastic boxes to store the fabric for my prison class. I can see that I will make progress – eventually. First, though, I have to make time to put the fabric in the boxes:

Collecting boxes, like collecting fabric, is a tight-rope walk between the good fairy of organization and the bad pixie of “ooh, shiny, I like it.”

As you can see, I’ve started sorting my embellishments in the plastic boxes. They are sturdy and stackable, and I can see what’s in them. The leather box with the silver trim is another matter. I told myself when I bought it that I would put Celtic-themed buttons in it, but the truth is the box is little and cute and I like it.

I also collect boxes to give as gifts, when I can bear to part with them:

This box actually will be sent off since I bought another one for me.

Some of the boxes I’ve made have been from fabric, some not. Here is a box I made from a Christmas card, which I used as a St. Patrick’s Day decoration this year:

The miracle of the week came when I was battling my monster of the week – clutter in the sewing room. I wanted to start machine-quilting two batik wall-hangings, but first I had to clear off my work space. I learned the hard way that pushing scraps out of the way isn’t enough when I inadvertently created back art while machine quilting. A couple of green scraps that in no way went with the gold backing got sucked in with the backdraft. By the time I discovered what I’d done my only choice was to pick out all the stitching and start again or trim around the green scraps as best I could and use the quilt as an object lesson. I chose the object lesson, and it served its purpose – I always clear off the space before quilting. Sadly, that often means I sweep everything to the floor. I didn’t want to do that this time, but I also didn’t have the energy to both declutter and quilt.

Then I looked around, and found a plain packing box. I had emptied it, but not put in back where it belonged. Yes! Hoarding to the rescue!

Of course, the real lesson to be learned here is that emptying boxes is good, and I will. Soon. I promise.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “The Miracle of Boxes”

  1. Margaret Says:

    I’m making a BOX of scraps for the foundation-pieced baskets!

Leave a Reply

