My Personal March Madness

March is a holiday-heavy month for me. Today is Pi Day, tomorrow is the Ides of March, Saturday is St. Patrick’s Day and next week is the vernal equinox. My synapses are tap-dancing with odd connections, ideas for special food, ideas for decorations and possible quilt titles (Leprechauns with Logarithms comes to mind).

While all this is going on, I’m still attempting to finish old projects that have languished in corners. I ran across a tote bag of cross stitch kits that I finished – which is good – but discovered that there are leftovers – which is not good. I also discovered that I still can’t count so the designs on my Aida cloth don’t look exactly like the designs on the kit’s cover, but that’s a story for another time.

In this story, the offending bits are the extra strands of floss the manufacturers include in case of stitcher error. While I made plenty of errors, I didn’t discover all of them until the very end, when I was in no mood to pick out the mistakes. So, I have a little purple, a little blue, some red, some orange – not enough to do anything big but enough to make me feel guilty for throwing it away.

Then I remembered the cross-stitch trim. For some unknown reason, I bought a yard each of gold- and silver-bound, 1″-wide trim suitable for cross-stitch. I decided to use up the extra floss with the silver-bound version. Here is the first experiment:

Next I tried a version of Greek Keys:

Once again, the simple act of getting from four spaces to five spaces eluded me, and the pattern went awry. More than once. After the third attempt, when I could see there was yet another mistake, I decided to turn a bug into a feature. I’m working on When Chenille is Not Enough, the sequel to Death By Chenille, with my friend Ann Anastasio (of Art Quilt Santa Fe fame). We decided we’re going to use the fragment of crazy quilt from the first book as a plot point in the second book, which means we have to come up with a real design for the quilt. The secret behind the quilt is that the woman who made it used designs from the writings of space aliens, so my wonky miscounted cross-stitch would fit right in. With that in mind, I made this:

and this:

I have a little more space on the silver trim, and the entire gold piece. If you have any wonderful, narrow cross-stitch patterns that I could easily mess up, please share or at least point me to a resource. The crazy quilt from space needs you!

By the way, Death By Chenille is available now as an e-book on Smashwords.com, and When Chenille is Not Enough will be available soon (okay, soon-ish).

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “My Personal March Madness”

  1. Ann Marie Says:

    You could always do little shamrocks for st paddys day, or little hearts, stars circles, etc….

  2. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    Love the Greek Key. Remind me to show you my Greek quilt UFO. Also, if you read on facebook my response to Marlene’s pi day post, can you help me design an all pi quilt? I got some ideas, but need more zaniness in the mix and lots of fruit fabric.

  3. marlenedotterer Says:

    Leprechauns with Logarithms! I love it!

  4. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    Soonish…great word. It allows my unfinished projects to go beyond Ides, St. Pat’s and spring equinox. I’ve set the deadlines for the day after Soonish.

Leave a Reply

