Snapped!

I’ve been telling people that I started the New Year feeling three weeks behind. My deadlines were piling up, and I was starting to feel like a walking Tetris game. As soon as one project was finished, the next one in line clicked into place.

When that happens, some of the less appealing chores drop off the to-do list. Filing, for instance, which in the sewing room means folding fabric, is one of my least favorite things, so it is always the first on the chopping block. The unintended consequence of buying time at the expense of tidiness is that things get lost.

That happened yesterday, and I snapped. I couldn’t find my favorite ruler, so I started poking around under the piles. The more time I spent prodding things, the angrier I got until finally I just swept everything off the sewing table and on to the floor.

Ironically, at that moment I glanced at the shelf where my rulers are lined up by size and there, in its proper place, was my favorite one. The gods must have been rolling on the floor laughing at me.

Still, as the damage was done I had a decision to make. I knew one of the reasons I was feeling stressed in the sewing room was that I had piles of fabrics that I thought would go well together. Someday. I decided someday was never coming.

Yes, those piles on the sewing room table got filed. I separated the fabric by color and put it into the drawers. Of course, to get to the drawers I had to move the tote bags of fabrics that go well together and that have notes for actual projects.

These will go back in front of the drawers, but at least I have a little room on the sewing table, fewer would-be projects with no direction glaring balefully at me, and a small (if somewhat self-deluding) sense of accomplishment.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Snapped!”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    I think you need a secretary–for the filing.

  2. marlenedotterer Says:

    Gee. You were so calm when you left after lunch…

Leave a Reply

