Crap I Kept That Came In Handy

I heard someone define a weed as any plant that is growing where it isn’t supposed to be. That is an accurate description of a lot of the stuff in my sewing room. It isn’t supposed to be where it is, but at the moment there isn’t another place for it. This week, some of that stuff found a new place.

The first thing that found a new place was a Chinese New Year card. I used it for a decoration on the table.

I’m not certain my husband even knew the card was on the table, as I still have the mini-pumpkins from Halloween and the centerpiece from Christmas. Still, the card was there. Now here’s the secret – the card wasn’t left over from last year. It was left over from the last year of the dragon. Yes, I’ve kept it for twelve years. Don’t tell my husband.

Then I finished making aprons for my kids. Margaret Misegades generously gave me a panel for a skeleton apron.

I unearthed some pizza fabric in a collection I had been keeping for karate quilts. We always celebrated passing a test with pizza, so I bought a boatload of pizza fabric for backs. Given that I’m the only one still taking class, I don’t think there will be a need for any more karate quilts.

The last item that came in handy is actually from Ann Anastasio. She gave me a bag of surprises, which I finally had a chance to go through over the weekend. I found a book with a pattern for a quilt carry-all.

I’ve been thinking about making a quilt carry-all specifically to use the extra zipper that I bought for the stadium bag (it turned out that velcro was the better choice for the stadium bag). Now I have a pattern, so all I have to do is choose the fabric.

While I am thrilled out of all proportion that I used these items, I do have to admit it only feeds my hoarding tendencies. How can I fight back the voice in my head that says, “Save this – you’re going to need it someday” when it turns out I actually do need the stuff? I can’t be saving everything with the hope that ten months or ten years from now it will be exactly what’s wanted – that’s what put my sewing room into such a state in the first place. If any of you have the perfect come-back for the little hoarder voice, please, share!

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Crap I Kept That Came In Handy”

  1. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    I know the opposite feeling. Last week I rummaged through supplies in search of a particular ribbon. During the unearthing process, I remembered discarding it to clean up in the Year of the Hare. I’m off to a clutterless start this Chinese New Year by borrowing “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo,” book from the public library.

  2. quiltfever Says:

    Your post title cracked me up! But seriously, the only thing that ever worked for me was to think about the cost to replace something later vs the heartburn of the clutter in the mean time.

Leave a Reply

