A New Beginning and Almost an End

The office supply store near my house was having a sale, and I needed a new printer cartridge. That’s how it always starts, doesn’t it? A simple errand, a chance to save a little money, then – well, it’s hard to say what happened then because the story is still in progress.

Here’s where we are so far – I went to the store, found the cartridge I needed, and a new pocket calendar. I also found a really cute red notebook on the clearance table and a presentation folder with pink inserts and a frosted white cover. Don’t remind me that I already have a dozen cute notebooks, and that I haven’t made a presentation in years. I continued trolling the aisles looking for sale-priced cute stuff. Then I found a portable file box:

That evil little voice inside my head that got my sewing room into the mess it is now whispered, “If you buy this, you can finally organize the stacks of pages you’ve torn out of magazines for new projects.” I told myself if it didn’t fit into the basket I picked up at the front of the store (instead of getting a wheeled cart – I know my own weaknesses, even when I’m powerless to fight them) I wouldn’t buy it. It fit. I bought it. And some cute maroon hanging files. I refrained from getting cute folders because I remembered that I have some at home.

In my defense, I did go through a stack of magazine pages, pitched the ones for contests that I didn’t enter, and organized the rest. Don’t ask how many stacks I have left to organize. Also, don’t ask where I’m going to put the file box because there really isn’t any place not covered with piles.

I did (almost) finish my sister-in-law’s stadium bag. There are three remaining tasks – decide how I’m going to attach the bottom, decide where I’m going to attach a carrying strap, and decide how I’m going to stiffen the sides of the bottom so it won’t collapse. The zipper that I bought for the bottom is (a) too short, (b) lacking a crucial piece of hardware to make it a separating zipper, and (c) not waterproof. Also, I’m really not great with zippers and although the one on the coat part went in mostly okay I don’t want to push my luck.

So, I’m rapidly talking myself into attaching the bottom to the coat with velcro, making it detachable. Here’s the stadium bag in pieces:

Me in bag, holding the bottom section

 

Sitting, with feet in bottom section

Then all that’s left is the carrying strap and the stiffening, both of which will require a bit more thought. But I’m seeing the finish line, and that makes me happy. Almost happy enough to sort through another stack.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “A New Beginning and Almost an End”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    A sewing room can’t have too many storage containers! The stadium bag is looking really good. I bet you could sell the pattern.

  2. marlenedotterer Says:

    Lani, we have to go shopping sometime. It sounds like it would be quite an experience! And that stadium bag – so it’ something to wear if it’s cold and rainy? ‘Cause it looks like a great idea. You’ll have to patent it.

  3. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    Where in hell freezes over does your sister-in-law live? I think you buried the real story at the bottom. More on that please.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      My sister-in-law lives in Oregon. Her son plays baseball for Oregon State University, and it is often windy, wet and cold on game day. She wore a sleeping bag over her coat last season, but it wasn’t waterproof and didn’t cover her feet. Thus was born the stadium bag.

      Lani Longshore https://lanilongshore.wordpress.com Death By Chenille (www.smashwords.com) Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre (www.brokendishesrepertorytheatre.com)

Leave a Reply

