Big Things in the Dark

The beacon on top of Mt. Diablo is lit once a year, on December 7, Pearl Harbor Day. I’ve been doing my best to fix in my mind exactly where Mt. Diablo is in relation to where my car is on the roads around town. It’s easy enough to spot it during the day – it’s the biggest thing in the valley – but at night, everything looks different.

The reason I’m chuntering on about this is because I lost a notebook in the sewing room. Oh, yes, there are many notebooks lurking under the piles in there –

Where's the notebook?

– but this particular notebook had information that isn’t recorded anywhere else. This morning I went on a search. Since the biggest things in the room were the piles I was trying to ignore, I closed my eyes and said, “If I were a lost notebook, where would I hide?” I’d like to say the answer to that question magically led me to the ironing board, but the truth is there were fewer piles there, so that’s where I started.

And, miracle of miracles, I found it. So, I can show you two other things I worked on this week.

I decided it was time to start on my tree series. I’ve been collecting fabric for ages, and pictures, and notes. When the Progressive Party decided the next project would be fractured art, I sketched a tree that I could divide into six pieces. I’ll make one section, and the group will make the other five.

We got the Christmas tree early this year, and when I fetched the lights I also found one of the birds from last year’s table decorations. As I recall, one of the birds I used last year had a decidedly evil look to its beaded little eye. I hope this bird looks a little more friendly.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Big Things in the Dark”

  1. Carol G Says:

    Your fractured tree is going to be interesting. Glad you found the notebook to show us a glimpse of things to come.

  2. Margaret Says:

    Do you need some “wood” fabric, including some which is particularly “bark?” I’ve got a whole box of same.

  3. TheaM Says:

    Hi Lani,
    I love that very clear path through your sewing room… mine is looking more like an obstacle course right now….

Leave a Reply

