Sense and Flexibility

My mother has the gift of intuition. She never let me take ballet lessons because she was afraid it would hurt my feet. When my daughter’s dance teacher started a mothers’ class, I was first to register. Two months later I broke my ankle practicing a tiny leap at home.

My intuition isn’t nearly as good. I usually get everything completely backwards. Now I discover one insight I had that really was accurate.

When my kids were little, I discouraged them from considering organized sports. Between my friends’ complaints and the little voice in my head, I was convinced sports would take over our lives. As it turned out, my son played baseball and football without completely disrupting the family schedule. Even karate didn’t consume all our time, if you don’t count the weeks of preparation before the black belt exams

However – and this is where the prophecy came true – karate did get into my blood. The kids stopped taking classes when they left for college. My husband stopped taking classes this month. I’m still going.

I could have quit at the same time, but I realized I like the same things about karate that I do about quilting. I like the camaraderie, and having a safe setting where I’m pushed to expand my abilities. I’ve even been able to incorporate quilting into karate.

Made for my one and only gold medal

I mention this because tomorrow is the first day of my holiday panic, and the sewing room is not ready. There are piles and stacks and unfinished projects as far as the eye can see. Well, you won’t because I’m too embarrassed to take a picture. Still, I find that I do manage to walk around in that minefield without tripping. Then I realized the strength and flexibility exercises I do for karate allow me to stretch over the stacks, crawl around the piles, hoist the boxes and tote bags.

Although my intuition about sports taking over my life was correct, it wasn’t a warning of coming disaster. Sometimes what we dread turns out to be just what was wanted. So, on this last day of calm before the holiday storm, I leave you with my favorite mantra – Blessed are the flexible, for they shall not be bent out of shape.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Sense and Flexibility”

  1. Carol G Says:

    Good for you having such a long term health habit. And hey, one gold medal is better than none!

  2. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    Hurray for your gold medal! My only medals are ancient gold-plated lapel pins bordered by laurel wreath acclaiming achievements in typing and shorthand. I keep them safe in a waist-high box so I don’t have to stoop or bend to reminisce.

  3. Thea Says:

    ….and by flexible, I’m hoping you mean ‘mental’ flexibility… cause all my physical flexibility is long gone… and how is it possible that this is DEC 1st already????

Leave a Reply

