ARRGH is Good

Some of my writer friends are typing their little fingers off as part of NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month. They’ve spent all of November agonizing over their plots and characters, word choice and syntax. I wanted to join them, but I’m too busy with ARRGH Time.

ARRGH Time is the quilter’s version of NaNoWriMo. We flip over our calendars on November 1, count the days to December 25, subtract the days for mailing, and calculate how many more hours we have to add in to each remaining day for the projects to be completed on time (those are the hours over and above the twenty-four that we start with).

ARRGH Time isn’t all bad. Underneath the stress is the camaraderie – every quilter you know is going through the same thing. I propose that we add one more ritual to the holidays, then, and finish up ARRGH Time with a celebration. I propose morphing the letters from a primal scream into an acryonym: Almost Ready to Receive the Group Hug. At some point in December – whatever day we tell ourselves “It’s done enough” – gather with friends and give each other a hearty “Congratulations!”

In the meantime, I am making a little progress on the projects (just don’t ask how high the pile on the sewing table is). My sister-in-law, Cindy Gorton, likes the protoype of her stadium bag and sent me a photo of her in it:

My husband likes the border for the mosaic tile project:

I also finished four drawstring gift bags that my mom asked me to make for her Christmas present.

And now, back to the sewing room. If you listen carefully, you’ll hear my scream.

 

 

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “ARRGH is Good”

  1. Carol G Says:

    Sounds like you are well on your way to meeting your goal. The tile mosaic looks great. Sorry you are not getting to spend the month writing.

  2. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    I envy your completed projects–gifts ready to enjoy this holiday season. As I pushed toward my NaNoWriMo ARRGH moment, the reality that none of my four annual 50,000-word first drafts is ready for binding like your Mosaic quilt forces me to accent Cicero’s words, “To each his own…”

Leave a Reply

