Doorway to Another Planet

The last of the projects I started at Art Quilt Santa Fe 2011 told me it was tired of waiting. Despite the mess in the sewing room, I swept off enough space to quilt it. Here it is, with binding and the beginning of embellishment:

Michelle Jackson, who taught the class, gave us a choice of two patterns. Most of us chose the door pattern. Most of us made doors that looked like they were in an old adobe and rock pueblo. My door comes from another planet – specifically, the planet I am creating in a sci fi novel. My main character, N.Keli, is a bug. Remember the bug doll I made? That’s her. This is her house.

I’m not sure how I’m going to finish the embellishments. There’s a beaded fringe on the bottom, and I’ll have beads around the twisty-turny binding. I’ve also quilted in leaves:


Here’s the bin of possible embellishments.

I expect that over the holidays a few of them will call my name and tell me where they want to be positioned. If not, I can always stare at my newest Christmas ornament until inspiration strikes.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Doorway to Another Planet”

  1. Thea Says:

    I think that little button with the overlapping circles wants to be a doorknob…. jmho…
    😉

  2. Carol G Says:

    I just love your quilt names and seeing the little darlings evolve!

Leave a Reply

