Enlightened Procrastination

Joseph J. Ellis uses the phrase “enlightened procrastination” in Founding Brothers: The Revolutionary Generation to describe how John Adams kept the infant U.S. from going to war with France by not revealing a series of insults from the French government until time and diplomacy could resolve the issues. It worked for Adams and I believe it can work for quilters.

I stitched the final border of my tile quilt and was looking forward to finding a backing. I showed my husband, and he suggested adding another border. Nothing I had would work, and I still thought the top was done. Then life got in the way of quilting and I put the top aside. I told myself I would go shopping for an appropriate border and if other fabrics leaped off the shelves into my arms, well, who could blame me for bringing some home?

Then mom and I went to the Diablo Valley Quilt show, where the border fabric waited.

Mom likes it, my husband likes it, even the quilt top seems to think it’s the right thing. I haven’t decided on width or mitering, but at least I’m pleased with the project again.

Enlightened procrastination wins once more.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Enlightened Procrastination”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    Wow, it really works with the “grout” and frames the darker interior of the quilt. You are a patient listener!

  2. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    Procrastination. Divide into syllables (quilt blocks or strips?) beginning with PRO. Go no farther! That describes you, Lani!

  3. Thea Says:

    woot woot!!! the fabric wins the pro-crastination derby again!

Leave a Reply

