From A to V

The applique tile quilt is taking over my life. That’s not bad, but it is odd. I’m used to getting psyched about a project, then having something else sneak in and become a time sink. That’s why there are stacks of UFOs all over my studio. Here is the latest block:

Here is the collection so far:

I am at work on the last block, and I have some ideas about the lattice and borders. I also came up with a design for the last of The Computer Ate My Homework series. With a little bit of luck and a whip-crack of discipline, I’ll get those done this coming week.

The 146th Caledonian Club Scottish Games were held over Labor Day weekend. One of their vendors, appropriately named B. Coole Designs, sells way cool patches. This year she had puns:

pi + rat = pirate

I’m not sure what I’m going to do with the patch. I’m not really into pirates – haven’t been since the kids started making their own Halloween costumes – but how could I resist?

I am into Vikings, having been the affirmative action student at the last bastion of Norwegian imperialism on the North American continent – aka Saint Olaf College in Northfield, Minnesota, the town that shot up the James Gang (but that’s another story). One of the other vendors sold Viking-style costumes. I didn’t really want the costumes, but I did want the ribbons used to embellish some of the garments. A few booths down, I found some:

I may make a small quilt and steal the first vendor’s slogan – Vikings: still better than pirates or ninjas.

So there we are, the end of the run from applique to Vikings.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “From A to V”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    Loving your applique tiles. You are hand appliqueing on a background, correct? And way cool ribbons. Can’t wait to see what you put them in.

Leave a Reply

