Playing favorites

So, I raved about the class I took with Bobbi Finley and now every design problem screams, “Applique!” Which is fine, because I prefer when the fabric tells me what it wants. Bits Rot; Only the Chant Remains told me it wanted simple lines:

It also told me it wanted the rhinestone edging that has lived in a small box on the corner of the sewing table:

A little glitter here -

- and a little glitz there

I thought this was the last of the series, but then another title made itself known – Mailer Daemon. I get that error message more often than I would like. Perhaps if I make the technopixie in charge of it a special quilt my e-mails will get through.

In the meantime, I am also making progress on the quilt I started in Bobbi’s class. Although the class was for one block, the fabric I collected has been most insistent that it wants to be part of a four-block quilt. Here is the second in the series:

The last block I did this week was for the Progressive Party:

The assignment was to make a landscape, preferably something dramatic, dream-like and whimsical. My design is based on a painting I saw years ago at a street fair in Los Altos. It was way out of my price range, and bigger than the available wall space could accommodate, and I didn’t think my husband would like the lemon yellow the artist used for the sky. Imagine my surprise when my husband took one look at this block and said I should make a similar one for us – yellow sky and all!

Now I’m looking at all my yellows for the perfect sky. I’m not sure how long this attachment to applique will last, but for the moment it is my technique of choice and definitely what I plan to use for my own landscape quilt.  How about you – what’s your go-to style of the day?

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Playing favorites”

  1. Carol G Says:

    You have such great names for your quilts. Maybe that’s why they speak to you–you give them such great identities.

  2. Thea Says:

    nothing beats applique for individuality…
    love your yellow sky landscape!

  3. Bobbi Finley Says:

    Lani, so glad you enjoyed the workshop and got past the “A” word!
    Bobbi

Leave a Reply

