Inching toward finishing

The top for Careless Tabs is finished!

Those wonky 9-Patches are on purpose, by the way.

As I was planning Network, I got an e-mail from a friend whose daughter makes doll kits for organizations that help disadvantaged children. I went through my lace box to see what I could contribute, and found the exact piece I needed for the next of The Computer Ate My Homework series (I did find some lace I could contribute to a good cause, so was doubly pleased with my efforts that morning). Once I had the lace, the fabrics for the base introduced themselves.

The best news about the base is that it finished off another piece of fabric – no scraps (at least for the red with white rectangles).

Since I want to be able to quilt Network but have the lace loose for embellishment, the top now looks like a mock-up for a curtain.

I pulled out a few embellishments – just to audition:

Network is now on the To Be Quilted pile, and I have notes for the last (so far) in the series. It will be called Bit Rot. I’m going to use the applique technique I learned in Bobbi Finley‘s class. The starting point for the design will be a modification of an old Hawaiian proverb: Stones rot; only the chant remains. My version is: Bits rot; only the filename remains.

Now to find the time to draft the design.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Inching toward finishing”

  1. Carol G Says:

    This has been a really interesting series to follow. And inspiring. I hope you take a group photo at the end.

  2. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    Fall series is inspiring, but Mailer Daemon in the computer series is the winner. You could finance another quilt series by selling MD as a Gravator for e-geeks websites.

Leave a Reply

