WIPS

The week started out with a quilt guild workshop, the first one I’ve taken in quite some time. Bobbi Finley, co-author of Tile Quilt Revival (with Carol Gilham Jones) presented an informative and productive session of block design, assembly, and hand applique.

My son and my block

I know Bobbi, or I probably wouldn’t have taken the workshop. Too many projects are languishing in my studio already, there’s always something else that can be done with the time and money, I don’t do enough hand applique to justify the investment – the excuses go on and on. They’re all reasonable, and all irrelevant. The workshop was fabulous, it used up fabric that had been sitting in a basket waiting for a design, and it gave me an idea for another stack of fabric that was also waiting for a design but now has hopes of becoming a quilt. The take-away point? Take the workshops! Even if you can only do one a year, take something. You’ll thank me later.

So, yes, I do have another WIP (work-in-progress), but I’m happy.

The WIP from The Computer Ate My Homework series didn’t get much further along, but that was because I was debating border designs. Here is what won:

I’ll be making Flying Geese units with the green rectangles, using the red-and-green paisley for the background and border. The top will go on the pile with the others, then I’ll start the last two quilts in the series. I’ll do the quilting and embellishing in one marathon session.

Of course, with all this creative energy running amok, the studio suffered.

I know, it really does look like a fabric bomb went off in the room. Organizing is also a WIP, a never-ending WIP.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “WIPS”

  1. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    And you were doing so well cleaning it up. Why is creativity so messy?

  2. quiltfever Says:

    I like your Tile Quilt block. Did your son enjoy being the quilt holder? Your studio looks like mine. I have run out of table surface so I now have piles on the floor! Clean-up is such a bore.

Leave a Reply

