A Frenzy of Fantasy

The bug doll is finished!

All sentient beings quilt

The dark beads looked more eye-like, but terrestrial. I added one orange bead to three dark beads to make the doll look both more buggy and more other-worldly.

I posed her with a post card quilt, just because I could. That post card quilt is made from scraps of a tote bag. To me looks like a horizon on another planet I imagined in a short story. Or a picnic table:

Finishing these projects freed me to attack my other obligations, but then the computer ate my homework. While I was waiting for some of the files to be recovered and others to be resent by kind and patient committee members, I thought of a brand new series of quilts that I need to make.

And this time, I already had some of the fabric!

I have been collecting computer-related fabric, and pixie fabric. The first quilt in the series will be The Technopixie and his pets.

You’ll notice the keyboards have flies on them. Yes, I am still doing the bug theme. This time, it’s computer bugs, which seek me out. I’m convinced that’s because I am plagued by technopixies that live to do mischief to my long-suffering laptop. In case you don’t believe me, here is the face of one of my tormentors:

I have fabric and titles for the other quilts in the series. The next one will be Checks, Balances and Fairie Charms. Now if only the machines in my life will behave . . .

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “A Frenzy of Fantasy”

  1. Margaret Misegades Says:

    Ooo, ooo–I have that computer bug fabric, plus some great motherboard to go with it. I may have to do something to match (or contrast).

  2. Thea Says:

    love your series idea – can’t wait to see the next one!

  3. Mary Gates Says:

    Your technopixies remind me of this from work: our techs are called GIS: Global Information Systems. The office joke is that it really stands for Gremlins In the System. I think pixies sound friendlier!

  4. quiltfever Says:

    Cute series idea but sorry how you are getting your inspiration.

  5. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    The Bug doll. Oh my, she’s ugly enough to be cute! Have to admit I envisioned from critiquing the draft novel that she’d have a beak, snout or some prominent facial characteristic to inhale the flower scents and consume the lucious nectar that nourish her in the new world.

Leave a Reply

