Perseverance

I tell new students that quilters don’t need patience, only perseverance. Case in point – the challenge project. Last week I lamented that the little covered notebook only used a few pieces from the pile. I decided I could do better than that, so I took out the second project from Linda Schmidt’s class at Art Quilt Santa Fe. We were working with tree, rock and river materials to create the illusion of depth. The project wasn’t going anywhere interesting until I added some fabrics and embellishments from the pile of stuff I collected for the challenge project:

Please note that this is a completed quilt – bound, sleeved and labeled. Yes, it is small, but I so rarely get a chance to say something is done, entirely done.

The next example of perseverance isn’t entirely done, but that’s because I need to make one last design decision. I’ve been writing a novel set on a planet where the dominant species is an insect. A big insect. My critique group couldn’t quite picture the critters, so I made a model. Well, I started a model. I got the body finished, then couldn’t decide what I wanted to do for the wings and the head. This week, I finished the wings:

N.Keli, my bug doll, waiting for her head

I made a head, too, but I didn’t like it, so I made another one. Then I couldn’t decide on the eyes. Here are my choices:

Better one . . .

Better two . . .

Better three

Feel free to vote on your favorite eyes. I’m determined to finish my bug doll this week.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Perseverance”

  1. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    Of the 3 I like better one the best. However, I pictured her eyes much bigger – more insect -like. And she needs a “sensitive” proboscis, whatever that looks like, since she divines meaning from flower scents. Hope that helps.

    Oh, yes, I loved your finished mini….

  2. Mary Gates Says:

    I vote for ONE. They look more like insect eyes to me. Interesting face on the bug!

  3. Meredith Says:

    I think the blue ones (number 1) are anthropomorphic and would be good for a hero, the yellow ones (number 2) look the most alien, and the red/oranges ones (number 3) look angry (and anthropomorphic), so would be good for a villain.

    Number 2 are my favorite.

Leave a Reply

