The Bad Fairy of Good Intentions

Another week, another demonstration that no good deed – or good idea – goes unpunished. Since my daughter had asked for pillows for her apartment, I picked at the edges of the piles and made projects from two UFOs.

Now I had a little extra room, which always encourages me to dig a little deeper in the pile(s). The latest Challenge Group project is a color assignment, so I pulled out fabrics that matched:

I stared at the fabrics; hints of the perfect design danced in my head. Then I remembered that the project did not have to be a quilt, and I had always wanted to try my hand at making a fabric book. The more cautious angels of my nature whispered start small, and I listened. Rather than make the entire book myself, I would cover a notebook first and see how that went.


The notebook project progressed as well as you might expect from a prototype:

Although there are things I will do differently when and if I cover another notebook, I’m pleased with the result. But here’s the thing – I still have a pile of fabrics! And embellishments! And new ideas that are demanding attention! I keep reminding myself that clutter is the sign of creativity, but there are days when I wonder if there is such a thing as too much creativity.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “The Bad Fairy of Good Intentions”

  1. Carol Says:

    I really like your covered notebook. Creativity does seem to feed itself 🙂 Overall a good thing I think.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Thanks! I’ve been trying to find a place to put that butterfly for a year. It’s lived on a tote bag, a small wall-hanging, and a stack of other displaced embellishments. It seems to have found a home here.

  2. Mary Gates Says:

    It’s not too much creativity, it’s too little time! Love the book cover. Keep those creative juices flowing.

Leave a Reply

